tinyallotment

Growing as much food on as little land for as little money as possible

Banana Pancakes

Leave a comment

We try not to eat too much grain so we don’t even have flour in the place but sometimes you get a hankering for something and today it was pancakes.

I saw this recipe a few weeks ago on facebook so a quick search and I found the recipe for two ingredient pancakes. I’m not sure you can call it a recipe with just two ingredients but there you go.

All you do is chop up some bananas (I used three medium bananas) the riper the better and a couple of eggs. This was enough for 8 small thick pancakes. Put the banana and the eggs in a measuring jug or similar and whisk. I used one of those powered hand wisk type things but you could do it in a blender.

The consistency need to be quite thick. You don’t want your pancakes spreading out all over the pan. You want the mixture to be just pourable.

Pour enough to make a 100mm disk in a hot frying pan smeared with oil and move the pan around at an angle to encourage the mixture to spread a little so it is flat.

As soon as it will cope with it without falling apart flip the pancake over  and do the other side for about a minute or until brown.

Banana Pancakes in the pan

We served ours with local honey and they tasted great.. I might try them in the future with blackberries or blueberrys or other soft fruit added to the basic mix.

Rolled up with local wild flower honey from Heather Bell

Try them, they’re great.

Author: tinyallotment

Dedicated to living a simple, independent, self reliant life where money is not the main factor. My dream is to engineer a life that requires very little from the outside world. I would like to provide my own shelter, collect my own water, grow, catch, hunt, forage my own food, create my own energy and deal with my own waste. This dream all starts in a tiny allotment in Cornwall where I will be experimenting in growing food, generating energy and dealing with waste.

Leave a Reply

