tinyⒶllotment

Growing as much food on as little land for as little money as possible

Update early October 2014

Leave a comment

Haven’t had too much time to do stuff at the allotment other than tidy up a bit around the edges. Most things in the ground are coming to an end and I will begin chopping and dropping or composting stuff very soon.

The pond is beginning to look a little more established with lots of little creatures showing up. It has been very dry throughout September so the surrounds to the pond still looks a little barren but I think this will change rather quickly with all the rain we are now having.

Pond

I have added a new bed on the other side of the pond. This area has not been used up till now and when I get it filled it will almost double my growing area. We have run out of horse manure at the allotment so I will have to try and source some from elsewhere. I will have to find a new place for the compost bin, I might see if I can get away with putting it outside of the fence.

New bed on other side of pond

Bed on other side of pond 2

My onions are coming on really well. And I will plant some of them out very soon.

Onions early oct 2014

I think I will plant some of them in the new bed I have built in the poly tunnel. I decided to build a bed in the poly tunnel insted of growing things mainly in containers in there because they will require watering less frequently.

Here is the new poly tunnel bed before being filled with soil. It is now filled with manure but I need to get some nice compost to top dress it before planting.

The guys from the allotment association have built a massive bug hotel to try to attract more diversity to the allotmentd as a whole. They asked if I could come up with a sign for it and this is what we came up with.

Bugingham Pallets

That’s it for now

More soon

Author: tinyallotment

Dedicated to living a simple, independent, self reliant life where money is not the main factor. My dream is to engineer a life that requires very little from the outside world. I would like to provide my own shelter, collect my own water, grow, catch, hunt, forage my own food, create my own energy and deal with my own waste. This dream all starts in a tiny allotment in Cornwall where I will be experimenting in growing food, generating energy and dealing with waste.

Leave a Reply

