tinyⒶllotment

Growing as much food on as little land for as little money as possible

Pond is now filled

Leave a comment

As I posted before  we gave up on the idea of a puddled clay pond as it was too much work on a piece of land we don’t own plus I got a surplus pond liner so we thought sod it let’s just get it done.

I filled the pond to a height so that the water level is just goes over the island in the centre. I placed a Gunnera on the island and then surrounded the pot with sods of earth removed when digging the hole.

I built up the sides with earth from the hole  and then covered the edges of the liner with sods and bermed earth.

This will all become a lot more natural looking once vegetation has re established itself again.

I noticed there was a water boatman in there this morning. How thee hell did that get there?

There are a couple of shallow areas that I am going to use for aquatic plants plus I may put some fish in there and then pump the water through a couple of growbeds to keep the water fresh.

Pond day 1

More later

aman

Author: tinyallotment

Dedicated to living a simple, independent, self reliant life where money is not the main factor. My dream is to engineer a life that requires very little from the outside world. I would like to provide my own shelter, collect my own water, grow, catch, hunt, forage my own food, create my own energy and deal with my own waste. This dream all starts in a tiny allotment in Cornwall where I will be experimenting in growing food, generating energy and dealing with waste.

Leave a Reply

